A Cycling & bikes forum. CycleBanter.com

Go Back   Home » CycleBanter.com forum » rec.bicycles » Techniques
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Sidi Genius Buckles: Will new replacements for Genius 5 fit oldGenius 2?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 6th 09, 10:57 PM posted to rec.bicycles.tech
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3
Default Sidi Genius Buckles: Will new replacements for Genius 5 fit oldGenius 2?

Subject kinda says it all.

I have a favorite pair of Sidi Genius 2's where the buckle just gave
up the ghost. All I see around are Sidi Ultra SL replacement buckles
for the Genius 5 (and up).

Will they fit my current Genius 2's (I guess namely the attachment
screw)? Will they fit the straps on my Genius 2's?

Thanks in advance,

plasticman
Ads
  #2  
Old January 6th 09, 11:22 PM posted to rec.bicycles.tech
Qui si parla Campagnolo Qui si parla Campagnolo is offline
Banned
 
First recorded activity by CycleBanter: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,259
Default Sidi Genius Buckles: Will new replacements for Genius 5 fit oldGenius 2?

On Jan 6, 2:57*pm, wrote:
Subject kinda says it all.

I have a favorite pair of Sidi Genius 2's where the buckle just gave
up the ghost. *All I see around are Sidi Ultra SL replacement buckles
for the Genius 5 (and up).

Will they fit my current Genius 2's (I guess namely the attachment
screw)? *Will they fit the straps on my Genius 2's?

Thanks in advance,

plasticman


Think so but can't you replace the straps also? If the straps don't
work with new buckles?

We have them, BTW- $20 buckles, $7 straps.
  #6  
Old January 7th 09, 03:24 PM posted to rec.bicycles.tech
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3
Default Sidi Genius Buckles: Will new replacements for Genius 5 fit oldGenius 2?

Thanks all.

Bill, true, very true. But then what would all of you do with your
extra time when you're not helping me? ;-)

I didn't ask about the straps because I assumed if the new buckle
didn't work with the old straps, then they must be a different width
and won't fit through the sleave on the tongue of the shoe. While the
buckle just attaches with a single screw, the strap slides through a
sleeve on the tongue that is not changeable (sic?).

It'll be a bummer if instead of replacing $30 of hardware I end up
spending much more on a replacement. These shoes have served me well
for over a decade. The bottoms are well worn and there's a small hole
in the upper on the one side (crit crash circa 2000), but they still
do the job. :-(

I'll contact Sidi to confirm and report back on what I hear.

Dan

  #7  
Old January 7th 09, 04:28 PM posted to rec.bicycles.tech
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,322
Default Sidi Genius Buckles: Will new replacements for Genius 5 fit oldGenius 2?

On Jan 7, 8:24*am, wrote:
Thanks all.

Bill, true, very true. *But then what would all of you do with your
extra time when you're not helping me? *;-)

I didn't ask about the straps because I assumed if the new buckle
didn't work with the old straps, then they must be a different width
and won't fit through the sleave on the tongue of the shoe. *While the
buckle just attaches with a single screw, the strap slides through a
sleeve on the tongue that is not changeable (sic?).

It'll be a bummer if instead of replacing $30 of hardware I end up
spending much more on a replacement. *These shoes have served me well
for over a decade. *The bottoms are well worn and there's a small hole
in the upper on the one side (crit crash circa 2000), but they still
do the job. *:-(

I'll contact Sidi to confirm and report back on what I hear.

Dan


Hope you have better luck than I did getting Sidi USA to respond to a
query IRT buckles.

Well, anticipating continuing Sidi Silence, I dug through my junk. I
don't have any Genius 2 shoes, but a strap from Gen. IV and V shoes
(IV, the strap attaches to the tongue; V, the strap attaches to
another strap that in turn attaches to the shoe) fits in my old Gen.
III (Ice Blue) shoes. The old straps, and I think your Gen II is like
this, is wider, with a plain margin on either side of the "ramps",
while the newer straps are narrower and have ramps all the way across.

So, long story short, if your Gen II straps are the same as Gen III,
you should be able to replace straps and buckles and then you can stop
futzing with the pivot pins that come out of those old-style buckles
g. Oh yeah, my three buckles look like they all have the same
footprint so they should fit those Gen II's. Remember to tighten the
attachment screws tight and keep after them during initial use which
reminds me to do the same, thanks!

BTW, Vecchio's price is about as cheap as you're likely to find from
what I've seen while looking for another pair of the Sidi buckles with
metal levers which Sidi USA didn't apparently want to bother with even
telling me they didn't have any.

Another BTW, there are bargains to be had on Sidi's if you know your
correct Sidi Size and buy from someone who didn't. Ebay, Craig's List,
etc. Got SWMBO some Dominators (xlent Spin class shoe), like new, for
$45, for example. --D-y
  #8  
Old January 8th 09, 01:15 AM posted to rec.bicycles.tech
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,092
Default Sidi Genius Buckles: Will new replacements for Genius 5 fit oldGenius 2?

On Jan 7, 7:24*am, wrote:
Thanks all.

Bill, true, very true. *But then what would all of you do with your
extra time when you're not helping me? *;-)

I didn't ask about the straps because I assumed if the new buckle
didn't work with the old straps, then they must be a different width
and won't fit through the sleave on the tongue of the shoe. *While the
buckle just attaches with a single screw, the strap slides through a
sleeve on the tongue that is not changeable (sic?).

It'll be a bummer if instead of replacing $30 of hardware I end up
spending much more on a replacement. *These shoes have served me well
for over a decade. *The bottoms are well worn and there's a small hole
in the upper on the one side (crit crash circa 2000), but they still
do the job. *:-(

I'll contact Sidi to confirm and report back on what I hear.


Go to an LBS that sells SIDI and has for a while,
they may have a box full of pieces and spare parts.
That way you can experiment with the fit.

What's wrong with the buckle? Sometimes the
hinge pin works out and needs to be pressed
back in.

Ben

  #9  
Old January 8th 09, 05:42 AM posted to rec.bicycles.tech
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,322
Default Sidi Genius Buckles: Will new replacements for Genius 5 fit oldGenius 2?

On Jan 6, 6:54*pm, Brian Nystrom wrote:
wrote:
Subject kinda says it all.


I have a favorite pair of Sidi Genius 2's where the buckle just gave
up the ghost. *All I see around are Sidi Ultra SL replacement buckles
for the Genius 5 (and up).


Will they fit my current Genius 2's (I guess namely the attachment
screw)? *Will they fit the straps on my Genius 2's?


Thanks in advance,


plasticman


The new buckles will fit, but the new straps won't and the new buckles
won't work with the old straps. If you want the new buckle system,
you'll have to buy new(er) shoes.


Well, I looked he http://tinyurl.com/96v2dj (All Things Are
Possible With Ebay) and it looks to me like the same strap as my Gen
III's have, and the newer, narrower strap (for Gen IV and beyond) does
fit in the Gen III shoes. I just tried it again to be completely sure
the Earth didn't go through some kind of Reality Warp since this
morning. Nope.

FWIW, the old straps (Gen III, for sure and it looks like from the
link above, also the Gen II. Was there a Gen I?) will fit in Gen. IV
and later. But then you'd have to use those funky old buckles that the
pins worked loose in, which doesn't ever seem to happen with the new
ones. --D-y
  #10  
Old January 8th 09, 07:11 AM posted to rec.bicycles.tech
Chris[_12_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 275
Default Sidi Genius Buckles: Will new replacements for Genius 5 fit oldGenius 2?

On Jan 6, 1:57*pm, wrote:
Will they fit my current Genius 2's (I guess namely the attachment
screw)? *Will they fit the straps on my Genius 2's?


I have a set of both in working order at home. I will check them for
interchangability when I get home and report back.

Chris
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB Sidi Genius 5 47 narrow Alan Marketplace 0 December 11th 05 04:20 AM
SIDI Genius & Speedplay? StaceyJ Techniques 3 September 22nd 05 02:00 PM
FS: NEW SIDI GENIUS 5 SHOES Richard Sachs Marketplace 0 April 8th 05 05:28 PM
FS- Sidi Genius 4 size 46 eric Marketplace 0 December 5th 04 07:13 AM
SIDI genius 3 - 46 Grazia Chiellini Marketplace 1 November 18th 03 03:40 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 CycleBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.