A Cycling & bikes forum. CycleBanter.com

Go Back   Home » CycleBanter.com forum » rec.bicycles » Rides
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Avalon Peninsula - Tour de Shore 3rd year

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 26th 08, 02:18 AM posted to rec.bicycles.rides
Brenda Lacey
external usenet poster
Posts: 3
Default Avalon Peninsula - Tour de Shore 3rd year

Short notice, but maybe for next year.

Tour de Shore Press Release
18 August 2008

Bicycle Newfoundland and Labrador, in cooperation with its corporate
partners (Celtic Business Development Corporation, GJ Cahill Limited, Vale
Inco Newfoundland and Labrador Limited, Hatch Mott MacDonald, and Hatch
Limited), is pleased to announce the return of the Tour de Sho the
largest and most exciting cycling event on the East Coast.

The Tour de Shore is raced annually on the scenic roads of Newfoundland and
Labrador's Southern Avalon Peninsula. First held in 2006, the event has
quickly become a cornerstone of the road racing calendar in the region. The
event, which takes place on Labour Day weekend, offers challenges and
enjoyment for riders of all calibres; from casual weekend cyclists, to
seasoned professionals.

The third annual Tour de Shore will once again cover a route of up to 198
kilometres. On Saturday, 30 August, riders will race from Stage 1 from one
of three start points (St. Mary's, Portugal Cove South or Cappahayden) to
Ferryland. With a wide variety of terrain, including climbs and flat
sections, the first day will set the stage for day two. On Sunday, 31
August, riders will contest another road stage: starting from Cape Broyle,
Tors Cove or Bay Bulls, cyclists will race to Goulds in the City of St. John's.
After a recovery period, competitive riders will then contest an individual
time trial: a test that pits each cyclist against the clock. Cash prizes
will be presented to the top three finishers in each of nine categories.
In its first year, the Tour de Shore attracted 80 riders, including cyclists
from as far away as British Columbia, who travelled to Newfoundland
specifically to take part in the event. 61 riders competed for $10,000 in
prize money, in eight categories, and another nineteen cyclists participated
in the noncompetitive event. In 2007, the Tour de Shore was named by the
Canadian Cycling Association as the Atlantic Canadian Road Racing
Championship. That year, the race grew to 100 riders; again racing for a
total purse of $10,000.

This year, the prize money available has grown to more than $11,000. Riders
from the Atlantic region and beyond are expected to compete. During the week
leading up to the race, provincial teams from the three Maritime Provinces
will be travelling to the Southern Avalon, along with coaches, family
members and chaperones. They'll participate with our own young athletes in
training workshops and skills development clinics, and then compete in the

As the profile of the Tour de Shore continues to grow, so does its impact on
the region and the province. The Tour de Shore is helping to raise the
profile of the Southern Avalon as an active, vibrant region.

Registration is open to riders of all ages and skill levels, and is
available only online at

For additional information, visit BNL at www.bnl.nf.ca or contact Kevin
Baldwin, VP Road, Bicycle
Newfoundland & Labrador, Chairperson, Tour de Shore Inc. at

2008 Tour de Shore Race Information.pdf


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tour of the Eastern Shore mlmartinet Rides 3 May 2nd 08 01:40 PM
Runes of Avalon 2 [email protected] General 0 April 18th 08 12:20 AM
Who's watching the Tour this year? Roger Zoul General 18 July 7th 07 06:12 PM
Dingle Peninsula Alex.Clarke UK 4 May 4th 05 11:41 PM
Lance Armstrong is riding Le Tour this year. jazmo Australia 17 February 20th 05 10:32 PM

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 CycleBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.